And…

by Ps. John Kelly

I am the Living One; I was dead, and now look, I am alive for ever and ever! And I hold the keys of death and Hades (Revelation 1:18).

The story of Easter is about rebirth and celebrating second chances. Jesus began this by giving up his own life and then rising from the dead.

For many people this is representative to their lives as well.

I was this, but now I’m this.
I was addicted, but now I’m living for Christ.
I was depressed, but now I have joy.

But Jesus took this one step further.
Jesus said; I was dead, now I am alive, and I hold the keys of death and Hades.

Jesus is saying that because of what I went through I now have something for everyone else.
I have power of death and hell, available for you.

So often, Christians stop before the “and.”
I was broke, but now I’m not.
I was angry, but now I have peace.
I was bored, but now I have purpose.

But what if Christians didn’t just stop there, but added the “and.”
Because of what I went through, I now have something to share with everyone else.

I was freed from addiction, so now I can turn around and mentor addicts.

I was freed from abuse and depression, so now I can turn around and serve, give back and encourage.

I was freed from debt, so now I can mentor others and be freed to give more.

Jesus had incredible follow-through, strength of mind, discipline, and now we can all benefit from it.

He is the perfect example of someone going through something and coming out on the other side with something for everyone else. This action is incredibly selfless and is the reason we celebrate Easter.

I was this, but now I’m this, and everyone is going to benefit because of it.

Leave a Reply

