Momentum | The Update

Hey Church!

A few months ago at the airport I met an old friend who had been on fire for God and passionate about winning the lost. It only took a few seconds of conversation to realize this was not the same guy I remembered. He said that somewhere he had lost the fire. I didn’t have much time to talk since both of us were heading in different directions. This morning as I was looking through my journal, I saw his name with a note next to it. How did he lose the momentum? What put the fire out? I thought about momentum and how it doesn’t stop overnight. It’s a gradual thing. Little by little we drift away from the things we love. It is never on purpose; just life in general can have that affect on us. So how do we keep ourselves on course?

In Philippians 3:14-16 from the Message translation Paul says this:

“I’m not saying that I have this all together, that I have it made, but I am well on my way, reaching out for Christ, who so wondrously reached out for me. Friends, don’t get me wrong. By no means, do I count myself an expert in all of this, but I’ve got my eye on the goal, where God is beckoning us onward to Jesus. I’m off and running and I’m not looking back.”

Paul puts this into perspective. If we lose focus on Jesus, we’ll end up in a place where we never planned to be. Keep your eyes on him! Love you guys! Enjoy the last weekend of the summer, and keep Jesus in focus this weekend as well!

Leave a Reply

